INTERNATIONAL LABOUR OFFICE



Governing Body

335th Session, Geneva, 14-28 March 2019

GB.335/INS/14/6

Institutional Section INS

Date: 18 March 2019 Original: English

FOURTEENTH ITEM ON THE AGENDA

Report of the Director-General

Sixth Supplementary Report: Composition of the Committee on Freedom of Association

- 1. The Committee on Freedom of Association has a fixed membership of three regular members and three deputy members from each of the three groups. Appointments are made by the Governing Body in an individual capacity at the beginning of each term of office of the Governing Body and for the same duration. The current composition of the Committee on Freedom of Association was decided by the Governing Body at its 330th (June 2017), 333rd (June 2018) and 334th (October–November 2018) Sessions. ¹
- 2. Mr Jens Erik Ohrt (Denmark), Worker deputy member of the Governing Body and regular member of its Committee on Freedom of Association, resigned from the Governing Body in November 2018. By a communication dated 18 March 2019, the Secretariat of the Workers' group has informed the Office that Mr Magnus Norddahl (Iceland) has replaced Mr Ohrt as deputy member of the Governing Body, and has appointed Mr Norddahl to also replace Mr Ohrt as regular member of the Committee on Freedom of Association.

Draft decision

3. The Governing Body appointed Mr Magnus Norddahl (Iceland), Worker deputy member of the Governing Body, as Worker regular member of the Committee on Freedom of Association for the remainder of the period of office of the Governing Body for 2017–20, in replacement of Mr Jens Erik Ohrt (Denmark).