12th African Regional meeting: Vaccination requirements for entry to South Africa

Meeting document | 24 August 2011

As from 1 October 2011, the authorities will require a yellow fever certificate from all travellers arriving in South Africa, or transiting through the country, coming from Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda and Zambia. This includes transiting passengers regardless of the time spent at the airport.

Travellers to South Africa who will transit through or visit other African countries en route should be aware of the yellow fever vaccine recommendations/requirements of individual countries before travel and should discuss their yellow fever vaccination requirements with a healthcare professional prior to departure.